Skip to main content


Friday, Nov. 20, 2020

Samaco earns "Lab of the year" distinction from LouLou Foundation

Samaco lab earns the "Lab of the Year" distinction from LouLou Foundation.

Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2020

NIH funds a new Fragile X Research Center at Baylor College of Medicine and Duncan NRI at Texas Children’s Hospital

The new Fragile X Center will receive about $9 million over the next five years and will be led by co-directors, Dr. David Nelson, professor of Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine and investigator at the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute (Duncan NRI) at Texas Children’s Hospital, and Dr. Peter Todd, associate professor of Neurology at the University of Michigan School of Medicine.

Monday, Oct. 05, 2020

Dr. Wu Chen receives the 2020 NRI Zoghbi Scholar Award

Dr. Wu Chen, a postdoctoral scholar receives the NRI Zoghbi Scholar award, which consists of $50,000 to pursue innovative projects that will form the foundation of thei scholar's independent research programs.

External Link
Thursday, Oct. 01, 2020

A Letter to the Community: Inspiring Science’s Next Generation

A Letter to the Community: Inspiring Science’s Next Generation

Wednesday, Sep. 23, 2020

Dr. Huda Zoghbi named Citation Laureate by Clarivate Web of Science

Dr. Huda Zoghbi among the 24 new Citation Laureates named from six countries. 54 of the previous Citation Laureates named by the Institute for Scientific Information have gone on to receive a Nobel Prize.

Monday, Sep. 21, 2020

Mirjana Maletic-Savatic receives funding from Space Health Institute

Dr. Maletic-Savatic's team receives funding to study the effect of space radiation on the formation of neurons in a human brain organoid model.

Friday, Sep. 04, 2020

Mingshan Xue receives the 2020 John S. Dunn Collaborative Research Award

Xue lab receives the 2020 John S. Dunn Collaborative Research Awards.

Friday, Jul. 17, 2020

Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s hosts a family conference for MECP2 Duplication Syndrome

This important family conference will bring together physicians, scientists, trainees, and families to discuss current developments in MECP2 duplication syndrome research and patient care. Exciting potential therapeutic interventions will be addressed.

Friday, Jul. 17, 2020

Shulman receives Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award

The American Neurological Association honors Dr. Joshua Shulman.

Monday, Jun. 29, 2020

Chao receives the Philip R. Dodge Young Investigator Award

NRI faculty, Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao, receives a prestigious award from the Child Neurology Society.

Wednesday, Apr. 29, 2020

Mapping of a rare brain disorder in babies leads to award of The Brain Prize 2020

Dr. Huda Zoghbi and Sir. Adrian Bird receive the Brain Prize for their pioneering work on Rett syndrome.

External Link…
Monday, Apr. 27, 2020

Bellen elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Hugo J. Bellen, professor of molecular and human genetics and neuroscience at Baylor College of Medicine and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, has been elected as one of the newest members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the country’s most prestigious honorary titles.

Thursday, Apr. 16, 2020

Amanda Brown shares her experiences as graduate student

Graduate student in Sillitoe Lab shares her research and experiences as a neuroscience graduate student.

Thursday, Mar. 12, 2020

Liu and team win a highly competitive award from Allen Institute

Zhandong Liu and team win a prestigious award from Allen Institute.

Monday, Mar. 09, 2020

How MECP2 Duplication Syndrome transformed our lives

The Neal family's experiences with a rare neurogenetic disorder.

Wednesday, Jan. 08, 2020

Dr. Hugo Bellen elected 2020 Vice-President/2021 President of the Genetics Society of America

Dr. Bellen elected to GSA leadership

Monday, Nov. 18, 2019

Inaugural Rett syndrome symposium

Duncan NRI hosts the first Rett syndrome symposium in the brand new auditorium.

Monday, Nov. 11, 2019

Dr. Born receives 2019 NRI Zoghbi Scholar Award

Heather Born receives the 2019 NRI Zoghbi Scholar Award. Drs. Parisa Lofti and Laura Lavery are chosen as the runners-up.

Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2019

Research collaboration focuses on CDKL5 Deficiency Disorder

NRI researchers and Loulou Foundation launch a joint research collaboration to study and find therapeutics for CDKL5 deficiency disorders.