Skip to main content


Tuesday, May. 28, 2019

American Pediatrics Society honors Dr. Huda Zoghbi

Dr. Huda Zoghbi receives the 2019 Norman J. Siegel New Member Outstanding Science Award.

Friday, May. 24, 2019

Dr. Sardiello receives The 2019 Michael E. DeBakey M.D. Awards for Excellence in Research

Dr. Sardiello receives the 2019 Michael E. DeBakey Award for Excellence in Research.

Monday, Apr. 22, 2019

McGinley receives John S. Dunn Research Collaborative Award

Dr. Matthew McGinley, assistant professor at Baylor College and investigator at Cain Foundation Labs, receives a research seed grant to develop a virtual-reality based platform to better understand mechanisms that integrate audio information with the brain’s broader cognitive maps and in the process improve technologies like cochlear implants.

Friday, Mar. 15, 2019

The Search for a Cure: Catching up with Henry & Dr. Zoghbi

When Dr. Huda Zoghbi left war-torn Lebanon in the 1970s to attend medical school in the U.S., little did she know that her journey would bring her to Texas Children’s Hospital. Today, she is a world-renowned neurogeneticist and director of the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute (NRI), where she leads a team dedicated to finding more effective treatments for a host of devastating neurological disorders.

Thursday, Mar. 14, 2019

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao named new McNair Scholar

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao, assistant professor of pediatrics and molecular and human genetics, faculty at the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, and associate program director of the basic neuroscience pathway in pediatric neurology at Baylor College of Medicine, has been named the newest McNair Scholar at Baylor. She is the College’s first M.D./Ph.D. McNair Student Scholar Alumni to also be named a McNair Scholar.

Monday, Mar. 04, 2019

CURE Epilepsy’s Day of Science: March 30

CURE Epilepsy’s Day of Science

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018

Dr. Zoghbi elected as a fellow of the NAI

Dr. Huda Zoghbi elected as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors this week.

Wednesday, Nov. 07, 2018

Our superhero son's diagnostic odyssey

In this blog, a dad describes his ten-year old son's rare regressive medical condition and their medical odyssey to get a right diagnosis for him.

Tuesday, Oct. 23, 2018

NRI hosts the fourth biennial symposium

NRI's fourth biennial symposium and workshop was focused on "Neuropsychiatry".

Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018

Dr. Hari Krishna Yalamanchili receives the 2018 NRI Zoghbi Scholar Award

Dr. Hari Krishna Yalamanchili receives the 2018 NRI Zoghbi Scholar Award.

Wednesday, Oct. 03, 2018

SYNGAP1 Center of Excellence at Texas Children’s Hospital receives research grant

Jimmy Holder Jr., M.D./Ph.D., a pediatric neurologist and scientist at the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s Hospital and assistant professor at Baylor College of Medicine, was awarded a $25,000 research grant from the Bridge the Gap – SYNGAP Education and Research Foundation.

Tuesday, Oct. 02, 2018

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao awarded NIH Director's High-Risk, High-Reward grant

Dr. Hsiao Tuan Chao awarded the National Institutes of Health Director’s Early Independence Award from the High-Risk, High-Reward Research program.

Tuesday, Jul. 03, 2018

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao receives a Child Neurology Foundation grant to study pediatric epilepsy and intellectual disability

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao, MD/PhD, clinical child neurologist and associate director of the child neurology residency program at Texas Children’s Hospital was awarded the Child Neurology Foundation’s 2018 Pediatric Epilepsy Research Foundation Grant.

Tuesday, Jun. 19, 2018

Dr. Christian Schaaf presents "The Power of Patient No.1"

Dr. Schaaf presents at the annual ACMG meeting.

Monday, Jun. 18, 2018

Dr. Zhandong Liu receives distinguished service award

Dr. Zhandong Liu receives the Distinguished Service Award from the International Association for Intelligent Biology and Medicine (IAIBM).

Thursday, Jun. 14, 2018

Dr. Mingshan Xue awarded 2018 McKnight Scholar Award

Dr. Mingshan Xue receives the 2018 McKnight Scholar Award.

Monday, Jun. 11, 2018

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao receives the prestigious Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao receives the Burroughs Wellcome Career Award to study the mechanisms underlying transcriptional dysregulation of inhibitory signaling pathways in childhood neurodevelopmental disorders.

Wednesday, May. 23, 2018

An inaugural family conference for Bosch-Boonstra-Schaaf Optic Atrophy Syndrome brings together key stakeholders

An inaugural Bosch-Boonstra-Schaaf Optic Atrophy Syndrome (BBSOAS) family conference was held last month in Houston.

Friday, Apr. 20, 2018

FDA approves everolimus for tuberous sclerosis-associated seizures, a treatment first discovered at Texas Children’s Hospital

FDA approves everolimus to treat partial-onset tuberous sclerosis-associated seizures, a treatment developed by our researchers.

Wednesday, Apr. 18, 2018

Dr. Huda Zoghbi elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Huda Zoghbi is elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.